Applied Archaeology and Cultural Resource Management (CRM)

Guide to research materials

 

 

Introduction

What can archaeology do to make a better world? In addition studying past lives and times using what our forebears left behind, how can archaeological sites, data, methods, and perspectives address “real world” (extra-academic) issues and concerns? What can archaeology, especially studies completed in order to clear the way for land modification and resource extraction initiatives, contribute to land and place histories? To appropriate land and resource stewardship policies and practices? To public and youth education and training? To economic and community development? To intercultural reconciliation and international cooperation?

Prepared by Dr. John R. Welch (Associate Professor, Department of Archaeology and School of Resource & Environmental Management), Erica Kowsz (Fulbright Scholar, 2011-12), and Lindsay Tripp (Liaison Librarian, Faculty of Environment) this resource guide facilitates access to published works relating to the theory and practice of applied archaeology and cultural resources management (also known as CRM and archaeological heritage management).

Back to top

Dig This! blog

The Dig This! blog is a current awareness tool for students and faculty members in the Department of Archaeology at SFU and the wider community. Its goal is to keep you informed of the many Archaeology research resources available via the SFU Library and beyond. We invite your submissions.

 Back to top

Books

The SFU Library assigns Subject Headings to items it owns. Subject Headings (SHs) are designed to:

  • inform researchers of an item's primary subject matter, and
  • bring together items with shared subject matter.

A selection of Subject Headings (SHs) relating to cooperation in land and resource management is provided here. Click on the links to view a comprehensive list of titles on that subject in the SFU Library catalogue (ranked by date, from newest to oldest). This feature is dynamic, and will reflect new titles as they are added to the Library's collection.

  1. Antiquities -- Collection and preservation.
  2. Archaeology -- Methodology -- Standards.
  3. Archaeology -- Political aspects.
  4. Archaeology -- Social aspects.
  5. Cultural policy.
  6. Cultural policy -- Political aspects.
  7. Cultural property.
  8. Cultural property -- Protection.
  9. Excavations (Archaeology).
  10. Historic preservation.
  11. Historic preservation -- Standards.
  12. Historic sites -- Conservation and restoration.
  13. Sacred space.
  14. Salvage archaeology.
Back to top

Databases

The SFU Library subscribes to a number of databases containing Applied Archaeology and CRM literature:

Top Resources

Web of Science

A combined search of all of the Web of Science Citation indexes.

Google Scholar

Search specifically for scholarly literature.

Human Relations Area Files: Archaeology

Full-text data on archaeological traditions from around the world. Text is subject-indexed for quick information retrieval.

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus unites Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the Anthropological Index Online from the Royal Anthropological Institute. The resource indexes material relating to anthropology and archaeology.

AnthroSource

Full-text access to journals produced by the American Anthropological Association

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Index for all aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life.

Biological and Agricultural Index Plus

Covers core literature in biology and agriculture.

GEOBASE

Human and physical geography.

JSTOR

Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities and social sciences journals.

In addition, the following web-based portals may be useful:

Back to top

Journals

The Library has compiled a select list of journals available to SFU researchers interested in Applied Archaeology and CRM.

Members of the SFU community can add to this list; To do so, follow the steps outlined on the Library's Guide to Creating a Personalized Online Journal List, using the tag "applied archaeology" (without the quotation marks).

For a list of Open Access Archaeology journals (non-subscription based periodicals, freely available on the web), see the Directory of Open Access Journals or this comprensive list on Doug's Archaeology blog.

Back to top

Bibliography of published works

For a selection of recent journal articles related to Applied Archaeology and CRM, please refer to the following RefWorks folders:

  1. CRM, Historic Preservation Practice, and Community-Based Archaeology.
  2. Criminology. Including Archaeology Resource Crime.
  3. Cultural Tourism, Economic Development, Health, and Urban Planning.
  4. Ethics and Professional Practice Standards.
  5. Governance, Public Education, Site Interpretation, and Propoganda.
  6. Indigenous Rights & Title. Including Group Identities and Territorial Boundries.
  7. Land and Resource Stewardship. Including Regional Planning.
  8. Repatriation. [For more resources, see this additional guide to Repatriation and Reburial.]
  9. Site Protection.

Please note that this folder will not be updated regularly after October 2011. To be notified of new literature related to your research interests, consider setting-up for Google Scholar email alerts.

Back to top

DVDs and miscellaneous media

  • Remnants of the Past. An educational video on the cultural significance of archaeological sites and the treatment of the remains of ancestors, jointly produced by British Columbia's Ministry of Transportation and the Qualicum First Nation.
  • Silent Stones of the Inishark: Memories, Archaeology, and Landcape. A short documentary film on the cultural landcape of the western Irish coast, produced by Erica Kowsz. It screened at the 7.5 Film Fest, part of the Society for American Archaeology Meeting in 2010. 

Back to top